Information InFiltration. Mediaculturistic artistic dissent-o-mania.

front page???E.A.Dobbsreview-a-rama

secret room upstairsFilterItYourselfwhatever
[- editors' picks
Discordia says good-bye
Discordia celebrates ...
Quoting the Critical Art Ensemble.
[- special guest host's corner
More Guest Hosts coming soon
[- guest host history
How did this thing called Discordia get started? What things do we wish we could do that we can't? Find out...
Why Discordia?
Discordia Wishlist
Discordia Home Improvement
Discordia DeBabelfished!
Feed me discordia. (RSS)
Discordia-bytes for WAP-enabled phones

Visit the Essay/Announcement Database!

Volunteers Wanted!
Reviews + discussions of books, articles, art, software, music, other reviews, the new zoo revue...

[- Wi-Fi performance at the ReJoyce festival celebrating Bloomsday 100
By ChristopheBruno, Section review-a-rama
Posted on Thu Jul 1st, 2004 at 01:33:03 PM EURODISCORDIA TIME
Here is the report of my Wi-Fi performance in Dublin, at the ReJoyce
Festival, celebrating Bloomsday 100

(1 comment, 321 words in story) Full Story

[ --------------------------------------------- ]

[- ¿Somos Productos o Somos Productores? Weshakelakatun ichiÑ? Ngueñ WeshakeluinchiÑ?
By IgnacioNieto, Section review-a-rama
Posted on Mon May 17th, 2004 at 09:30:29 AM EURODISCORDIA TIME
El Museo de Arte ContemporÁneo de Valdivia estÁ encajado a la orilla del rio Calle-Calle en el sur de Chile. Este fue instalado recuperando un viejo edificio a mediados de la decada del noventa para promover el arte contemporáneo dentro de la Region de Los Lagos. Su función desde su creación, sólo ha sido, traer artistas de la cuidad de Santiago sobre todo ex-alumnos de la Universidad Católica, marginando asi toda producción local de arte contemporáneo, produciendo una inversíón de la política cultura, centralizándola en vez de descentralizarla-

(1 comment, 255 words in story) Full Story

[ --------------------------------------------- ]

[- Geeks, Commerce, Politics, and Fun with Technology
By amy, Section review-a-rama
Posted on Sat Feb 14th, 2004 at 04:19:22 AM EURODISCORDIA TIME
I've often wondered: could Southern California (or anywhere in the US) ever have a cool geek conference like the Chaos Computer Club holds in Berlin? I don't mean I expect the CCC to hold conferences in the US rather than their home of Germany. I mean: could US computer culture - steeped in pragmatism and capitalist necessity - ever support a geek conference focused on politics and/or recreational hackerdom? After all, San Diego's infamous annual hacker conference, ToorCon - isn't a Hacker conference at all, it's an "Information Security" conference. There's a big difference.

So, with a mix of high hopes and skepticism, I paid a visit this past week to the O'Reilly Emerging Technology Conference in San Diego.

(9 comments, 1108 words in story) Full Story

[ --------------------------------------------- ]

[- What is the difference between a pop star and a philosopher?
By Aileen, Section review-a-rama
Posted on Mon Feb 9th, 2004 at 07:08:42 PM EURODISCORDIA TIME
About this time last week, I was sitting with friends in the large auditorium at Transmediale in Berlin waiting for the keynote lecture by Antonio Negri. As we ended up waiting for quite some time, we got to see the interviews with Negri from the DVD by Angela Melitopoulos several times over (after we had already watched them in the afternoon at the exhibition). By the time everyone was seated in the audience and a complicated, large-scale headphone exchange had been successfully carried out, the large auditorium seemed to be steeped in the presence of this larger-than-life figure, who finally took his place at the table to speak to this crowd of people that had been waiting for him for hours.

(5 comments, 399 words in story) Full Story

[ --------------------------------------------- ]

[- Data Dérive
By TreborScholz, Section review-a-rama
Posted on Wed Jan 7th, 2004 at 10:13:01 PM EURODISCORDIA TIME
Data Dérive; Angie Eng's Mental Mappings is an exhibition review in the context of Eng's New Media Art Residency at Art in General, New York City, October 28 to December 20, 2003>

(893 words in story) Full Story

[ --------------------------------------------- ]

[- Light of Falling Cars
By TreborScholz, Section review-a-rama
Posted on Wed Oct 22nd, 2003 at 11:50:37 PM EURODISCORDIA TIME
In mid-October, the electronic musician and media artist Steven Vitiello, currently in residency at
Hallwalls Contemporary Art Center presented his work at the Department of Media Study, SUNY at Buffalo.

(656 words in story) Full Story

[ --------------------------------------------- ]

[- Brother Librarians
By Aileen, Section review-a-rama
Posted on Tue Oct 7th, 2003 at 08:18:19 PM EURODISCORDIA TIME
As part of the lecture series "Artvertising" at the O.K Center in Linz, yesterday evening Ecke Bonk talked about his work Book of Words. Random Reading that was shown at Documenta11. What was most amazing was the portrait he painted of Jakob and Wilhelm Grimm, who had been librarians together at Museum Fridericianum in Kassel, where the work was shown. Ecke Bonk mentioned that it was suggested to him that instead of a "random reading" of the Deutsches Wörterbuch, it should be interactive, allowing people to type in a word, for which the entry in the Grimm brothers' dictionary would then be displayed.

(1 comment, 431 words in story) Full Story

[ --------------------------------------------- ]

[- Deep Sites
By TreborScholz, Section review-a-rama
Posted on Tue Jun 24th, 2003 at 03:15:10 PM EURODISCORDIA TIME
Deep Sites
Intelligent Innovation in Contemporary Web Design
by Max Bruinsma

(220 words in story) Full Story

[ --------------------------------------------- ]

Next 8 >>

[- how to post and vote
[- faq (discordia q&a)
[- faq en español
[- search
[- send feedback

[- sick of english?
[- multi-lingual babelfilter

[- Username
[- Password

Make new account >>


Sunday June 22nd

Gramophone, Film, Typewriter (4 comments)

Tuesday June 10th

Playing Stud on the Cultural Frontlines (1 comments)

Tuesday May 13th

Book Review: Metromarxism by Andy Merrifield (1 comments)

Sunday May 11th

The (Ir)relevance of New Music? (2 comments)

Monday May 5th

AI, fiction, fear (0 comments)

Sunday May 4th

Who is faking it: artists or activists, or both? (11 comments)

Thursday May 1st

Whose baby do you want to have? (1 comments)


Stories, articles, images and comments are owned by the Author. The Rest © 2003 The Discordants under the Gnu Public License